Peoria, Tazewell, And Woodford: Here, There & Everywhere

Seminoma, Semolina by Brandon C. Hovey

Durum Wheat Grain crop 04110343ravioli

My cousin Marty telephoned me a while ago to inquire about my well-being after dealing with cancer.  He told me that life is a lot like a card game.  We cannot see what is in store for us.

I prefer chess.  Cards always seemed arcane and complex for me.  I don’t enjoy cards. I do enjoy life, though. I’ve greater appreciation for it than I did in the past.

In the card game of life there are moments where the ‘game’ is no longer a ‘penny a point.’

It becomes life and death.

This year I fought testicular cancer from September to October.  You can read about this here: http://www.meanwhilebackinpeoria.com/blog/2014/9/28/testicular-cancerpart-i-by-brandon-c-hovey and here: http://www.meanwhilebackinpeoria.com/blog/2014/10/18/testicular-cancerpart-ii-by-brandon-c-hovey.

When I heard I had cancer, I wasn’t thinking of the future I was blinded by the unpleasant present.  The future was rocky after the diagnosis at first; the long term future is promising.  My reaction can be summed up in this poem.  I’m a bit of a gourmand.  Pure seminoma, the type of testicular cancer I battled reminded me of durum semolina the wheat flour used for the production of pastas like spaghetti and ravioli!

The things you learn when your spouse is a chef!

         Seminoma, Semolina

                 No, I do not want seminoma.

                I’d rather have durum semolina.

                With Durum Semolina, I can make pasta primavera.

                Durum Semolina Flour can be a door to pasta e fagioli

                I do not want the Seminoma.

                Pure Seminoma is the best Testicular Cancer, you say?

                I’ll take this Pure Seminoma.

                This is early detection, you say?

                I’ll take this Pure Seminoma.

                 No, I do not want Pure Seminoma.

                Yes, I’d rather have Durum Semolina.

                But, I can’t really choose.

                I guess I’ll fight Pure Seminoma. 

                I’ll take Pure Seminoma away.

Truthfully, this fight with Pure Seminoma taught me numerous lessons.  As time goes on, you’ll hear more of them.  The lesson in this post is that things are always not as bad as you perceive them.  Yes, there are world enders, but disease does not always equal death.  A loss of a job does is not the equivocation of a death of a career.

In the words of my grandmother, Joy Merle Fry Cannon, “There are only a few absolutes in life.”

5 comments on “Seminoma, Semolina by Brandon C. Hovey

  1. John G. Moffatt
    November 9, 2014

    Life will always have its peaks, plateaus, and valleys.
    Learn to shift gears.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. peoriatazewoodfordblog
    November 11, 2014

    Mr. Moffat, I’m happy to say that Testicular Cancer is the best thing that ever happened to me.

    I’m driving a new car, no need to shift gears.

    Like

  3. Mike Foster
    November 17, 2014

    Really a brave & inspiring post, Mr. Hovey.

    Like

  4. Christopher Hovey
    December 19, 2014

    A shift in perspective is a miracle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
